Mandan Welcomes Newly Elected Officials

July 1, 2024 – Newly elected officials began their terms in office today! The City of Mandan has a new mayor, commissioner and municipal court judge. Mayor James “Jim” Froelich, Municipal Court Judge Thomas Jackson, and City Commissioner Craig Sjoberg are all new faces joining the City of Mandan elected leaders. Commissioner Mike Braun was also reelected for a fourth term.

Mandan Public Schools. Jake Schmidt was elected for the unexpired one-year term with Mandan School Board. Amy Schanandore and incumbent Rick Horn won the race for the three-year terms, and incumbent Sheldon Wolf ran unopposed for a rural three-year term.

Mandan Park District. Incumbents Jennifer Froehlich and Wade Meschke ran unopposed for another four-year term on the Mandan Park Board.

County Commission. Incumbents Nathan Boehm and Raymond Morrell will move on to the Nov. 5 General Election ballot. There are three positions up for election for the Morton County Commission.

All measures on the ballot passed during the June 11 election:

  • Congressional candidate age limits – this prevents an individual from being elected or appointed to serve in the U.S. Senate or House of Representatives if the individual would become 81 years old by Dec. 31 of the year preceding the end of their term.
  • Citizen-initiated sales tax increase – effective Jan. 1, 2025 the proceeds of this one-half cent city sales, use and gross receipts tax will be dedicated to public safety specifically, costs associated with the building of police and fire stations, the acquisition of police and fire emergency vehicles and city hall accessibility needs. Two tenths of a cent will be dedicated to public transportation needs, specifically costs associated with providing reliable service for disabled, elderly and socioeconomically challenged residents.
  • Publication of City governing body minutes in local newspaper.
  • Publication of Mandan School District minutes in local newspaper.

Approximately 3,449 Mandan residents voted during the June 11 election.