7-Year Assessment Cycle
Seven-Year Assessing Cycle

The City of Mandan Assessing Department started a new seven-year assessment cycle in 2015. The department created the cycle to stay current on property information within its jurisdiction, which allows for more accurate market analyses. A citywide re-assessment was completed in 2012, and some properties received a re-assessment from the 2015 Board of Equalization. Any property re-assessed between 2013 and 2015 will not require a walk-through during this cycle.

The city is divided into 12 assessing zone areas. Letters will be sent out to property owners alerting them an assessor will be visiting their area. Assessors will wear City of Mandan identification badges and drive vehicles with a visible City of Mandan logo.

The market changes every year. Zones may be examined during any year for accuracy.

North Dakota is market-driven in determining valuations of properties. The North Dakota Tax Department defines market value is the price a property would bring if it were offered for sale in the open market for a reasonable length of time and purchased by a willing buyer from a willing seller, both parties being prudent and having reasonable knowledge of the property and neither being under undue pressure to complete the transaction.

Property owners can request a re-assessment at any time by calling the Assessing Department at 667-3232.

Seven-Year Assessment Cycle
2015 - Zones 1 & 2 (1,538 parcels)
2016 - Zones 3 & 4 (1,118 parcels)
2017 - Zones 5 & 6 (1,295 parcels)
2018 - Zones 7 & 8 (1,256 parcels)
2019 - Zones 9 & 10 (1,630 parcels)
2020 - Zones 11 & 12 (1,835 parcels)
2021 - New subdivisions & new commercial properties